Bad Day at the Office

The other day I headed out with Sam to Wildcat Crags in the Derbyshire Dales for some more trad climbing.

However, it was not a good day.

We got to the foot of the crag after a little detour, and I had just decided on a route to lead when I realised that I had left my harness at home.

This was not conducive to a good session.

After much searching around, including back at the car for a potential spare, I rigged a top rope, improvised a harness out of a sling and karabiner and we managed to salvage the day, climbing Jackdaw Grooves, VS 4b and Broken Toe Groove, VS 4c.

However, after all the time wasting and muddling about, my head was in a mess, and my climbing was equally messy. I just wasn’t in the zone and it was surprising how a few small factors interfered so much.

I also thought I was clever, packing my gear into an Ikea bag on the suggestion of an UKC article last year and turning up in jeans and t-shirt, as if I were going sport climbing in France. These were two additional mistakes: the bag was awkward and uncomfortable to carry, and the muddy, greasy approaches to the crag were treacherous in trainers.

Sometimes you just have a bad day at the office…

Leave a Reply

